Better Together

The traditional classroom is scattered with individual desks, some in a grid pattern and some in a circle or square formation. The art room awaits a table for 4 (occasionally 2 or 3, depending on the class size). We could have individual desks for each student, sure it would create more work for me as the teacher delivering individual palettes of supplies. I would do it if I felt it made a students time more productive, artwork more creative and deep in knowledge. Students feed off of each other and while this could (does) result in arguments and struggle, the lessons learned are greater. Even more important, the realm of creativity for each student is challenged to grow deeper. At it’s peak, students are modeling for one another how to create, suggesting ideas for one another and pushing one another to try something they never thought possible of themselves.

Many students come to the classroom with hobbies and favorite animals, so if I get to know my students well enough (usually before 2nd Semester I can see patterns of subject matter) I can strategically put varying hobbies together to increase a variety of subject matter in artwork.

While the classroom chatter can surpass the “noise-meter” or a typical classrooms expectation, I try to be accepting of the chatter as students are almost always learning through it. If the students are creating and doing so in a positive conversation, I allow them to continue unless it distracts from another students learning.

Below is the modified Voice Level Chart I have created for my classroom. The numbers are consistent with the rest of the building, creating common language.

Voice Levels - Art Room

Leave a comment